Ford Motor Company Fund is proud to announce the 2020 FGB Freedom Award winners! The FGB Freedom Award provides opportunities for community organizations to receive supplemental funding to build upon the vital work they are doing to make positive changes within their communities. FGB Freedom Award is open to past honorees of some of Ford Fund’s most notable initiatives: Ford Freedom Unsung and Ford Freedom’s Sisters programs – two initiatives that recognize individuals or organizations that are making a positive impact in their community. Past honorees of both programs were eligible to apply for up to $25,000 in supplemental funds to build upon the vital work they are doing in the areas of education, social mobility and community development or safe, smart mobility.


$25,000 Award Recipient: Emory University School of Medicine’s Pipeline Collaborative

Receiving the top-place, $25,000 grant is Emory University School of Medicine's Pipeline Collaborative (EPiC). The collaborative is a comprehensive three-year program of learning, mentoring, college preparation and health careers exposure that prepares high school students for entry into health professions. Emory University School of Medicine's Pipeline Collaboration achieves its mission of readying youth for healthcare professions by engaging them in after-school sessions during the academic year and the summer. However, they were hampered by COVID and the ongoing marginalization felt by the students – especially Black males in their target schools. 

Emory Pipeline
Chicago State Photo 1

$10,000 Award Recipient: Chicago State University

The $10,000 runner-up grant is awarded to Chicago State University's Pre-Freshman Program in Engineering and Science (PREP). The program is designed to make students aware, at an early age, of the professional opportunities in engineering and to encourage students to take more mathematics and science as a part of their high school course load.


Previous FGB Award Winners

$25,000 Award Recipient: A New Way of Life Reentry Project (2020)

$10,000 Award Recipient: Bean's Café, Inc. (2020)


$25,000 Award Recipient: The Hidden Genius Project (2019)